Tags

, , , , , ,

It is high summer here in KwaZulu Natal, which means that we can go to the beach most every day. However, today was overcast and drizzly, which made my Humans decide to explore the hills and and valleys at the back of our complex.

There is a deep valley at the back between our house and the South Coast highway and we can see the bridge across the Mtalwume river from our back lawn. The grounds have been cleared almost down to the river and Mom suggested that we walk in that direction. I immediately vetoed that decision; it may be beautiful down there, but –

Elysium view of bridge over the Mtalwume river

Elysium view of bridge over the Mtalwume river

can you see who was sitting at the edge of the lawn, watching our every move? If you look closely, you will see those naughty Vervet monkeys under the trees. They may be cute, but I am still a bit … well, not scared exactly, just careful.

So, we decided to walk in the other direction. The summer grasses are growing high and make a stunning display on the hills. There is a footpath made by the bushbuck that come visiting during the night.

Elysium summer grass

Elysium summer grass

Mom had hold of the camera and told Sissy to pick me up; she didn’t want me to walk through the long grass. It turns out that there is actually a very good reason why I am not allowed to wander around on my own. If you want a clue, just look at those heavy duty protective boots that Sissy wears when she goes for a walk! When she picked me up, I immediately made it known that I was NOT going into this wild country (at heart I’m still a city dog!) and she had to carry me back to the clearing.

There is a reason why they wear those boots

There is a reason why they wear those boots

I stood there watching her for a while, just in case she needed me …

Genis watches over his Human

Genis watching over his Human

but she seemed to be doing fine and enjoying her walk, with Mom running behind her to get some shots of the scenery …

Elysium walking in the hills

Elysium walking in the hills

 so I just quietly slunk away to join Dad on the balcony.

Genis decides to go back to the safety of the balcony

Genis decides to go back to the safety of the balcony

Why does Mom keep telling me that I am a wussy? Next time I will show you some photos of all the critters that live around us (and try to move into our home every now and then). Then you’ll know why I think it best to be careful and watch over my Humans and Our Cat from the balcony where I have the perfect view to spot danger.

