Tags

, , , , ,

No hair, no privacy and no dignity. I lost it all.

The rest of the country has started to unpack their winter clothing, but here summer is still in full swing. Dad says there is only chicken wire between Paradise and the Very Warm Place. Due to the excessive heat and the myriad uninvited guests that are trying to move into my thick fur, Mom delivered me to the doggie parlor for a shave. I arrived back home with nothing but freckles, a fluffy little tail and a few stray hairs on my head.

Mom took this unflattering pic of me to rub in that I’m still shaped like a beach ball, despite the fact that I already shed a third of my body weight, due her hefty diet regime. Dad almost split his sides laughing at this image of The Dog.

Genis, the couch potato

Genis, the couch potato

In the afternoon, Sissy took me to the tidal pool for a swim, where everybody and their dog stared at my nudity and the kiddies tried to count my freckles.

Genis at Mtwalume tidal pool

Genis at Mtwalume tidal pool

After the swim, I was given an impromptu fresh water beach shower, to prevent the salt water from damaging my skin. Do you have any idea how embarrassing that position is in which she is holding me? This is not even the proper shower that humans use, just a tap outside the ablution block.

Genis having a beach shower

Genis having a beach shower

Walking home, Mom just could not resist taking this pic of my recently shaved buttocks.

Genis's turns his back on Mom: beeg mistake

Genis turns his back on Mom: beeg mistake

Back home, I found small consolation in playing with my two favorite balls. Somebody left it out on the balcony and in the heat of the afternoon sun, both of them were completely deflated. I wasn’t able to kick or roll it, so I just picked it up and carried it around.

Genis laments his deflated balls

Genis laments his deflated balls

Dad says the story should’ve started out with the balls. Mom says he is being uncouth.

I just know that I lost it … all of it.

