Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today was quite an exciting day here in our usually serene Paradise. I was doing my couch potato imitation this morning when Sissy came running with my leash and her camera. Yay, time for our daily walk!

But this was no leisurely stroll. We were hurrying at full speed towards the beach when we saw movement on the sandy road. Sissy let out a blood-curdling yell, jumping up and down and pointing at the tree next to our gate. And Forrest, I immediately thought of you because …. what did I see? None other than that guy that Dad refers to as Our Gatekeeper (better known as a green mamba – a highly venomous snake that lives in trees). Sissy calmed down just in time to take a pic of the tail-end of the snake as it disappeared into the branches and over the wall. Yup! … that was scary.

The Gatekeeper

The Gatekeeper

So we left the guy alone and continued on our walk on the sandy strip between the lagune and the beach, towards the tidal pool. Here was the second surprise of the day (for me at least); the river has broken through the sandbank which we usually cross on our way to the pool and all the water from the lagune was spilling into the ocean. Turns out my Humans saw this spectacle from our balcony and decided to investigate, so it came as no surprise to them. I was a bit miffed, and worried at the same time, because there was just no way that we could get to the pool. You’ll see what I mean when you watch this video and remember: X marks the spot where the tidal pool is supposed to be.

Mom says for the next few weeks we will have to drive eight kilometers on the highway to get to the pool; we won’t be able to cross on the beach side for quite a while.

Then, of course, we had to walk all the way back. The wind was picking up and I hate it when the sand gets into my eyes and ears, so Sissy picked me up and carried me to the other side of the lagune.

Carried like a bag of potatoes.

Carried like a bag of potatoes.

Mom was lagging behind, snapping pictures as we walked home, and I was getting a bit worried about her. She is rather old and decrepit, you know?

Come on Mom!

Come on Mom!

We sat down and waited for Mom to catch up. I think Sissy was also getting a bit tired of carrying around an almost 12kg doggie. She must really love me 😀 don’t you think?

Waiting for Mom to catch up

Waiting for Mom to catch up

